Leap into a New World of Dr. Who

I will be honest, this was not my first choice for an IS class. However, it was not far away from my first choice. My fellow classmates and hall-mates had good reviews for this class and strongly recommended it. Even though I had never seen Dr. Who before I decided to take a leap. This leap ended lead to a show like no other.

 

My initial thought when watching the first episode, An Unearthly Child, was that the target audience was children. I wondered how these off the wall ideas would stick to the minds of English children. It came to me that at the time nothing like this had been done before. It would have been a huge risk for the producers to try and produce such a show. However, as we all know it has paid off.

 

According to Dan Martin’s blog post in 2013, Doctor Who classic episode #1: An Unearthly Child, “with so much to introduce and no guarantee of the audience getting their heads round any of it, does so in a brilliantly enticing manner.” This I believe is especially true because the ideas are so diverse that I thought it would be tough to stimulate interest in children. Once again, you can see this was not the case. Not only did the children enjoy the show but also people outside the target group took the trip through time as something they had been waiting for.

 

Dr. Who has provided many people with a way to relax and just enjoy their time. When getting into this class I had no clue what or how important Dr. Who is to people. My leap has begun with a landing that showed me why people love the show Dr. Who and how it is possible to have such a large fan base for a show that began in the 60’s. I thought that this time would struggle with these diverse ideas but they took them in stride and without that Dr. Who would not be around today.

 

References

 

Martin, D. (2013, February 14). Ukrainian Hacker Who Allegedly Tried to Frame Cyber-Security Extradited to US. Retrieved January 29, 2016, from http://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/tvandradioblog/2013/feb/14/doctor-who-classic-episode-an-unearthly-child

 

3 thoughts on “Leap into a New World of Dr. Who”

  1. I can relate to you on the fact that this wasn’t my first choice in class either, and while we were watching the Classic episodes, I couldn’t believe there was really a huge cult-like fan base. After going through many on the New Who episodes, I can see where people are coming from. So, I enjoy the show; however, I don’t think I will ever be an obsessed fan.

    Like

Leave a Reply

