The Doctor’s Biggest Fan

A few weeks, before I started this class, I decided I needed to get caught up with the rest of the Doctor Who episodes on Netflix. After finishing all of the episodes with the newest Doctor, Peter Capaldi, I proceeded to research him just a bit. I stumbled across this amusing video with Peter Capaldi on The Graham Norton Show.

To say I was amused is an understatement! Not only did this video make me laugh at how Peter Capaldi acted when he was younger, but it also made me think of the current fans and what they might be thinking. Because I am a fan myself, I can imagine the idea of Peter Capaldi becoming the Doctor is not only exciting but brings hope. After all, if someone who can be just as obsessive about a show yet still became the main character can only bring hope to other fans out there who have dreams of being the Doctor in the future.

From looking at this video and comparing it to other interviews with Peter Capaldi, I believe this is the first video that announced how big of a fan he is before becoming the Doctor. Coming to this conclusion wasn’t too difficult, since in this video he squirmed and groaned uncomfortably on the subject. In other interview videos, he begrudgingly admits but accepts how large of a fan he is.

Recently, I also read something about how Peter Capaldi will most likely be the last Doctor that grew up with the show as a child. Though it is possible to have another Doctor in the future that grew up with the show, it’s unlikely due to their current age. But who knows! No one but the Doctor can predict the future.

 

2 thoughts on “The Doctor’s Biggest Fan”

  1. Wow this video was a good find! Very funny! I wish Graham Norton would have read the letters that Peter sent them because I am sure those were very nerdy and hilarious! I also think it is a cool story that a big childhood fan of Doctor Who grew up to be a Doctor himself. I’m sure he wasn’t the only kid who “wanted to be like the doctor someday”. I’m sure other major fans of the show are re-evaluating their future goals now that one previous fan has become the doctor!

    Like

  2. One of my earlier blog posts mentioned the response Capaldi got! It’s funny to think that he is the Doctor now! He has definitely come a long way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

