My Journey To Becoming A Whovian

Many of you are taking this class because you needed to take an IS 201 class and this happened to be one that had some open seats, fit best in your schedule, and sounded slightly more interesting than some of the other classes that were being offered at the same time. I on the other hand, am actually a huge fan of Doctor Who and was pretty excited when I heard that it was a class. That being said, I wanted to talk a little bit about how I became a fan of Doctor Who.

My friend Natalie has never seen Doctor Who before taking this class and her solution to finding out a little more about the show was to go on Pinterest and see what she could find. I found that pretty funny, because Pinterest is how I first learned about Doctor Who at all. I saw a ton of posts about the kinds of funny things that happened on the show and how many people seemed to watch and enjoy it, and I decided that I needed to watch it as soon as I could. So I found it on Netflix, watched the first episode, and was extremely weirded out and not sure if I wanted to continue watching it. I’m not sure exactly where the idea for the first episode came from but I feel like it was not the best choice. I finally decided to try watching the next few episodes though, and I’ve loved watching it since.

I urge everyone to push through that very first episode this weekend when you are watching it. It’s honestly a hard episode to get through, but I think it will be worth it. Just be open to some of the ideas in it and don’t over-think it too much.

I also want to leave you with one of my favorite quotes from Doctor Who:

I adore this episode. Reinette is awesome.:

Leave a Reply

