A Children’s Show Adults Can Enjoy

The first time I watched Doctor Who was five years ago and I remember having a difficult time connecting with the show for the first couple of seasons. I was baffled by how it had such a great reputation when it was ultimately a children’s show that definitely seemed to be immature to me. As I continued to watch the show though I began to appreciate it, but that was ultimately because the later seasons are slightly more catered to an older audience.

Now that I am re-watching it and have just finished the first season, I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed this season. While I didn’t find this season to be any less immature than I did the first time, I was able to appreciate it by finding the underlying adult themes within each episode.

Two episodes that I had an especially difficult time connecting to my first time watching it was the two part The Aliens of London and World War Three. These episodes feature the alien Slitheen family who use a gas exchange in order to fit their relatively large bodies into a human’s smaller frame as a disguise. This gas exchange causes the Slitheens to fart more so than usual, which is obviously meant to be a bit of humor geared toward children. When you look past this childish humor though you can appreciate the deeper aspects of this episode. Those include Rose’s family and friends having been worried that she was either kidnapped or dead since she had been missing for a year, Mickey having been questioned by the police for possibly kidnapping his girlfriend, the police and her mother’s suspicion that The Doctor had taken advantage of Rose, and the metaphor for a corrupt government that was and still is relevant.

Doctor Who is a show that often times is childish but also tackles complicated and sometimes incredibly mature issues. I believe that a lot of people could enjoy this show if they are analytical while watching it and appreciate the deeper meaning behind all of the episodes.

Leave a Reply

