The Diversity of Reading

The diversity among generations is sometimes more apparent than others. It is hard to tell if you are not trying to point out these differences in lifestyle. However, there are times even I can see the divide. Reading is something I have always enjoyed, even as a little girl. My favorites include fantasy, sci-fi, and romance. I am finding more and more that my peers do not find this pastime as entertaining as I do because whenever I try to recommend a book they give me a look of confusion. They do not understand the pure joy and wonder that a book can give.  For me, reading is the doorway to new worlds and adventures that we can explore. I am always consumed in my book and I even find myself longing to be a part of that world. I look at this diversity among our generation as a sort of philosophical connection. Where others are into movies and television to find entertainment, us that enjoy reading connect with the older generation. The oldies stick to reading because it is all they know and what they were raised on. But for the youngsters we read because we feel our imagination can tell the story way better than any movie ever could. I think that says a lot about what type of person you are and what values you have in life. I think it is important to realize what your values are and live by them every day. I would consider myself very old fashioned and traditional, and for me, I know I will always stick by my values and beliefs. Although there is diversity among us on what we believe in, we can always connect on the fact that we all have our own values and strive to live by them.

3 thoughts on “The Diversity of Reading”

  1. I also love to read, and whenever I notice this divide between generations, I remember that one of my English teachers in high school always talked about the difference in attention spans in our generations. For example, movies now are much quicker in terms of pace compared to those made in the 70’s. This is because back then, it took audiences longer to take in the scenes and realize what was happening, not because they are dumber, but because their minds just weren’t used to taking in so many things at once. Therefore, our generation’s minds are everywhere all the time, and so we think quicker and can take in a lot in a short amount of time. Because of this, many view reading as boring, slow, and a waste of time. But, like you, I disagree and greatly value to beauty of writing and reading.

    Like

  2. That is a very insightful way to view the generational gap. I am interested to see from a biological side the differences that have come about even in the past 50 years in our capacity to understand and comprehend.

    Like

  3. I don’t read as often as I should, I’ll be the first to admit that, however, I don’t think the fact that our generation reads less is what disconnects us from older generations. I would argue that the pervasiveness of the media in our every day lives is what disconnects us from older generations. I think because our generation faces so many distractions, we can’t focus on one thing for a long time, for example a book. Even in movies, plot sequences happen very quickly so that the audience isn’t lulled to sleep by the length and content of scenes. Writers face a challenge in captivating an audience for a long period of time, no matter which medium they write for.

    Like

Leave a Reply

