The Eleventh Doctor

Before I had watched an episode with the eleventh doctor, I had already decided that I was not going to like him because I was just starting to get used to the tenth doctor. It took me quite a while to get used to David Tennant as the Doctor, so I assumed it would also take me a while to like Matt Smith as the Doctor. However, I really enjoyed the Matt Smith as the Doctor from the first episode I watched with him in it. I found the bit with him trying to find food that he liked to be very funny and I liked the way he interacted with Amelia. From all the mixed opinions I had heard about Smith, I was happily surprised with his performance.

Image result for doctor and amelia food

The main reason I think I like Smith from the very beginning was because I enjoyed the plot of the episode and how episodes after that continued to connect with the first episode of the season. The episode was interesting and kept me invested through the entirety of it. I liked the new characters, and I liked the new Doctor’s quirkiness.

Image result for doctor amy and rory

I think a large reason why I did not like Tennant right away, like I did Smith, was because I did not at all like the first episode that Tennant was in. I found the plot to be somewhat silly and boring and I did not like how different his personality seemed to be from Eccleston’s, because I really enjoyed him as the Doctor.

If I had to choose, I would say that Smith is my favorite Doctor so far and a lot of this has to do with his supporting cast. Amy is a good companion and I really like that Rory comes along to travel with her and the Doctor. Rory is a great character and, in my opinion, is the perfect combination of silly, oblivious, and somewhat intelligent.

3 thoughts on “The Eleventh Doctor”

  1. I completely agree with the fact that it took me a while to get used to Tennant as well. However, I disagree with you in the fact that I did not like Smith from the very first episode. I thought with the new technology and redo of the TARDIS this is why I do not like this version and I am still getting used to it. I will agree that I do love the cast he is with as well. Amy brings another level to the show that it did not have before. I also like that Rory is along with as well because we never really saw a relationship on the show, let alone, the relationship coming with the Doctor.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree that Rory is a really great character. With that being said, Rory always felt like an iteration of Mickey’s character. Amy was written very differently than Rose, but at least to me it felt like she was always pining after the Doctor. Rory, like Mickey, was more interested in the woman in his life than he was in the adventures with the Doctor. Gradually Amy is distanced from the Doctor with the thorough introduction of River Song, but it always seemed like Rory was second fiddle. I think it would be interesting if we got a dynamic male companion that was solely interested in traveling the universe, not one mostly tied to romantic endeavors.

      Like

  2. I feel like each actor that plays the role of the Doctor brings a different element and specialty for us to see and enjoy. For example Eccleston brought power and sometimes anger and was able to show us how torn the Doctor is because of his acting methods. Tennant brings his ability to express emotions such as sorrow and grief. I feel that Smith brings a heightened quirkiness with all of his eccentricities. Each actor adds another layer of depth to the Doctor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

