Diversity of Schooling

     Growing up I wasn’t like most kids, I was actually homeschooled until my freshman year of high school. My sister was homeschooled all the way through high school but I was different because I wanted to play sports, so that meant I had to go to public school. For me, someone who has experienced both public school, and also being homeschooled, some things that people found as normal while at school was so diverse to me.

     Although it was almost 6 years ago I remember my first couple of days of school like it was yesterday because of how different it was for me. I probably had at most an hour of school a day, that included the basic subjects (Science, History, Math, English, Spanish) I could complete each subject in less than 10 minutes most days. At public school however it was a 7 hour day, taking 7 classes. To me that was so weird spending so much time in each class.

     Another thing that might sound stupid, but it was probably the hardest thing that I ever had to learn at public school. It sounds crazy but for 14 years of my life I had never encountered cartons of milk, I’d watch the kids around me open them up in two smooth pushes, but I would always end up poking a hole in it and using a straw.

    Finally the last thing I noticed in public school that was completely diverse to homeschooling was the lack of discipline, and respect that kids had. I grew up with my mom as my teacher if I misbehaved I would wait until Dad got home and would get a ruler to my butt. That taught me respect real quick, something that was noticeably lacking in kids who went to public schools

3 thoughts on “Diversity of Schooling”

  1. I think it is very unique that you were home schooled most of your life. Since I was never home schooled and didn’t really know anyone who was, whenever I hear about it, I always find it very interesting. I could never imagine how the adjustment would have been with the diversity you must have encountered when you went to a public school. I think one could also relate the carton of milk story to today’s society with diversity. I think when you are young and exposed to diversity in your life, everything seems normal, like opening a carton of milk. However, when you haven’t seen that much diversity and are suddenly exposed with it, you don’t know what to do at first (like putting the straw in your carton).

    Like

  2. I completely agree with the point that you make about discipline some people in school come to school and think they can say and do what they want. It makes me kind of wish we could go back to the way teachers could use creative discipline techniques.

    Like

  3. Homeschooling is something that I did not experience. I think you have a unique to share. Now I think about it, an hour for some classes is too much. You might need only 10 to 15 mins for some classes. If you were to go back in time, would you complete homeschooling until you finish school or not?

    Like

Leave a Reply

