The Definition of Diversity

plural

diversities

  1. 1:  the condition of having or being composed of differing elements :variety; especially:  the inclusion of different types of people (as people of different races or cultures) in a group or organization programs intended to promote diversity in schools

  2. 2:  an instance of being composed of differing elements or qualities :  an instance of being diversea diversity of opinion

The first day of class it was made very apparent that diversity was the topic of choice for each discussion related to Doctor Who. As the semester has progressed, the meaning of diversity has evolved into something more than just a word for me. I now am able to pick up on diverse aspects everyday, whether this be through people I meet, the places I go or even the food I eat in the Mensa. I think it is so important to understand the relevance of how diversity changes and impacts our lives. To me, diversity allows me to see how others and other things can impact my life positively and negatively. Without differences in people and places, everything would be the same. Growth would not be something we would be capable of. Without putting ourselves in new situations and experiences with things and others we do not know, we can’t become more than who we are in this moment. The Doctor is constantly experiences diverse aspects of life and history itself. For him, it is completely natural to constantly be faced with change. I can’t imagine what he would be like without that continuous change. Each episode, you are able to see where diversity is allocated and the reasons why. Applying that to my life, I am able to see what parts of each day I can thank for the existence of diversity.

One thought on “The Definition of Diversity”

  1. I really like a lot of the points that you make in this blog it really helps me see what diversity truly is. I thought it was a cool idea to insert a direct definition into the blog, it really helped catch my eye when reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

