Diversity and Change

Change is hard.

Change is hard for everyone. Change is even hard for people who say they like change, whether or not they will admit it.

Before coming to college, I didn’t really believe this. It wasn’t until about the third month of school that it hit me that I would never play sports again on a competitive team. It wasn’t until Christmas break that I realized I would never stay in my childhood home for longer than a few months at a time again in my entire life. It wasn’t until several months after Christmas break that I realized I would never get the chance to compete in speech again, something that I had been very involved with in high school; that this year, someone besides myself would win the state championship in serious prose for the first time in three years. But for some reason, it didn’t really hit me that life had changed until one of my closest friends in high school sent me a picture from her graduation party. I was thousands of miles away on a May term trip to Europe and couldn’t be there for her party, and while I didn’t shed a tear at my own graduation, for some reason this made me cry.

It was then that I really realized that life would never be what it was, and the nostalgia of knowing I was growing up really got to me. Sitting in a cafe in Eisenach, I thought about all the things I would never experience again, and while it made me kind of sad, I also found it vaguely inspirational. While I wouldn’t be able to experience a number of things I had previously, I also had the chance to experience so much more in my future. I was sitting at a cafe in Eisenach because I was touring with my college band, something I would get to do for the next three years after that. I was in the band because I was at college and furthering my education, which would hopefully open up a variety of opportunities I wouldn’t have had the chance to experience otherwise. And while I couldn’t relive the past, I realized that I didn’t really want to. I had moved on to a point in my life that going back and doing the things I loved to do in high school wouldn’t be the same and wouldn’t give me as much enjoyment any more. I was different, and that was okay.

So while change is hard, its also transformative. It makes us unique and helps us grow, and for that reason, it’s essential to our future achievement and happiness.

5 thoughts on “Diversity and Change”

  1. I don’t think change is hard for people. I think the hard part is the acceptance to change but for people to change they must be able to think with an open mind on a topic.

    Like

  2. I definitely agree with you in that change is hard. I especially related to the bit where you talked about how you realize the changes afterwards. After I came to America for high school, it wasn’t until mid autumn festival, until I received the first package from home, that I realized I wouldn’t be living with my parents anymore. What was once “my home”, is now “my parent’s home”. But looking back, standing at the Beijing airport gate, my heart was filled with excitement and anticipation for the future that’s unfolding in front of me.

    Like

  3. I’ve noticed the change a lot when going back to my high school to watch my siblings in concerts and sporting events. I used to walk in the gym and know almost everyone I saw, now I walk in and have no idea who any of the people are. It honestly makes me feel really old.

    Like

  4. I completely agree that change is hard. I think we all definitely have experienced this going to college. Change is also something that helps us to become the person that we are today. When thinking about change, it is crazy to think that in a day. nothing seems too different or too drastic. However, if you think about where you were a year ago, it is crazy to think about how much different your life was. I especially notice this when I go home. I always think that when I go home, everything will be how it was when I left. However, when I go home, I am very surprised to see all the change happening to both my school as well as my community.

    Like

Leave a Reply

