New Experiences

Last year I did something that I never thought I would. I joined a real sport. I was extremely active in just about everything but sports in high school. I was a cheerleader all four years which is a sport, yes, but at my school it was not really counted as one and I do not think we were doing a ton to make it really count. When I got to college I did not really do too many things and I was looking for something to do. A friend of mine was talking about lacrosse and how they needed more players, so I kind of joked about joining. A week later it was not a joke anymore, I had officially signed my life away to Wartburg Women’s Lacrosse. The largest problem with this was that I had never even seen a single game of lacrosse even on TV, let alone actually played before. Nobody in Iowa really knows what lacrosse is so it was a completely new thing for me and my family. I am writing about this experience because it is okay to go out and try new things even though you have no idea what you are doing. I have made amazing friends being a part of this team, and I have fallen in love with a sport I had barely even heard of before last year. I have always been too scared to really go try anything new and actually trying something new was probably the best decision that I have ever made. I really want to encourage anyone that might be thinking about doing something new, or joining a group that they are not sure if they should or not, or anything like that to go for it! What could you lose? When you’re little you’re always told to go try new things, it’s never too late to try.

Leave a Reply

